Batman Arrives

BATMAN ARRIVES

This weather is for the ducks!!!                                

It seems they are the only ones enjoying all this rain and they don’t even care how cold it is! Waddling from one mud hole to the next pausing only to gather in their little circle to chat about (I can only guess) which mud hole is the best 😉

Enough about the weather though I didn’t write a title like ‘Batman Arrives’ to give you the mucky chills.

This story of Batman starts like most stories, at the beginning and even on a Monday which turned out to be a very interesting Monday indeed.

This past Monday night we brought home a blessing. Batman!! And my ladies are totally excited <Big Grin> And you know it <snicker, snicker> I’m going to draw up a true to the farm brief story 😉

It all started when I got my three ladies this past winter. I heard they are a farmer’s friend, and they LOVE to eat flies. So why would I get them in the winter when there are no flies you might ask? Simple, they were there. I figured if I could keep them alive then, then this new adventure just might work out. So I decided to give them a go. But I wasn’t going to breed them if I wasn’t happy with them. Also, I had heard that they are very messy and stinky.

Well, we discovered that the character God put in them makes them well worth the mess and stink. Mike and I just love watching them. We get a real kick out of them. But then we are partial to the Walt Disney movie The Aristocats. You’ll know which part sends us into gut splitting laughter in a minute. But still I wasn’t won over. I was holding back putting out the cash for a ‘male‘. Plus, in my new clutch of chicks I was getting too many Roos and Mike doesn’t have time to put them to better use 😉 I tried selling my extra Roo, alas, to no response to the ad. I decided to try something different. After all, too many Roos in a coop makes the hens unhappy. Hey kinda like “if she ain’t happy, then nobody’s happy.” So my ‘something different’ to try was an ad for ‘trade’. Equal swap, my Roo for a male. A male what??? A Batman what???

Hold on just a little longer it’s coming…

First day of ad, Bamm! And the ad was barely a hour old!! An ad answered that quickly has God’s signature all over it 😉

I swapped my Roo for the most beautiful, colorful Muscovy Drake named Batman! (A male duck for those like me who didn’t know what a drake was). The moment the ladies saw him when we brought him home they were at the fence. And he too was all excited! He was singing and strutting a dance in his cage. I tell you between the four of them they could’ve put ‘Dancing with the Stars’ to shame!

But for now he’s not a ‘Happy Feet’.. he’s quarantined for a bit :0 I try to always becareful with newbies to the farm.

Previous to Batman showing up the girls had been popping out eggs everyday. My sister, Ginger, claimed we were almost getting the ‘golden egg’ lol. We had been eating them and baking with them but even just the three a day is too much for us. We figured we might as well have them fertile and sell the chicks to pay for the up keep of our organic fly-catchers.

When George heard the drake’s name he said he’s not living in the ‘Bat-Cave’! LOL (that’s what I dubbed his bedroom because he works nights and sleeps all day).

Well, Batman wasted no time driving me crazy during his ‘brief’ quarantine wanting his girls sooo bad. So I gave in and gave him a good check over. All looks really good and he’s clean 🙂 So I let the girls join him, although they are still going to be separate from everyone else.

And wouldn’t you know it! I had know idea!! Drakes are worst than dogs!! The moment I dropped in the first of the girls BAMM! It was like BATMAN dropped from the ceiling and he was on top of his world!! And if I thought he was driving me crazy before…now he doesn’t shut up about telling the world on how good he is!! LOLOLOL!!!

P.S. To my girl-friend Laura…I think he heard you cheer “Go Batman!!!”

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Life on the BottomsUp 2/3 Acre and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Batman Arrives

  1. Mike Robbins says:

    Awesome job, Baby…keep up the good work and I will enjoy reading your future articles…. Really looking forward to them.

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

