Tornado Season

After a long, dreary winter the sun starts to hang around a little longer melting away the white, winter blankets. It’s finally spring time! Ah yes! Spring time brings back life to everything. You have spring-cleaning, spring flower-beds, spring winds, and the inevitable tornado season that comes in spring.

Now most tornados take place outdoors, but this one caught me off guard because despite the hard winds outside, this one hit indoors! Even this one blew away my girl-friends when I told them what happened.

The day started off like any day. My normal routine with the exception of hoping to do a little baking. I don’t know how good you are at making pie crusts, but I find them challenging. Some days, I’m dead-on and can pull off the perfect flaky crust. Other days it’s cosmic war and you cannot figure out who is messing with the balance of the simplest ingredients and you know you measured them precisely as you should! So, needless to say, I won’t attempt pies unless I know I’m in the right hemisphere and have the time to play ( and you know that’s rare).

Recently, I have gotten smart in this though…when this kind of time finds me I take advantage of it, make a few pie crusts at one time and freeze them. Hahahaha <the laughter of triumph> But, (I know there’s always a but 😉 when I get desperate and the stock runs out there’s always ‘Tenderflake’ 😉 Not the same we all agree. But I can still hold my head up high because I know my family loves my pie crust best.

Now why would I run off at the mouth and describe such a mundane chore as making pie crust, when the title is Tornado Season and I told you I had a story that even blew my girl-friends away??

Well that’s where every tornado/story starts, at the whirl-wind/beginning, unless your making an upside down cake….heyyyyyyy (no, no, no, it’s writing time…I must finish this first and you needed a little history to be able to absorb the full impact of this adventure 😉

As you assumed correctly it’s our annual spring baking time for us and I wanted to fill our frig with endless treats. As a child it was one of my favorite times and traditions. My mom used to make mouth-watering chocolate macaroons. I remember I use to call them chocolate snowballs. I don’t know how I got that name for them, but they are chocolate macaroons. Oops! there I go with a fond memory…I better get to the point before you decide to make a pot of coffee to get through this novel 😉

So anyways, time was closing in and still had so much to do. Finally, the groove found me as well as some time opened up (it rained on the right day lol). I had two home-made pie crusts in the freezer and 2 ‘Tenderflakes’ 😉 as well as some pumpkin. And a can of cherry pie-filling in the cupboard. Bamm!! within minutes 3 pies were in the oven! Wow…now that was too easy and too quick! I still have lots of time to bake hmmmm simplicity is so fun!

Let’s see, what else can I get into, I thought, as I thumbed through my recipe book. Oh! Duh! must have chocolate macaroons Bamm!! 2 batches chilling in the freezer as the pies come out to cool! ohhhh the aroma flowing through the house is not helping matters at all! It’s so invigorating that my adrenaline is heightened and pushing for more! I feel like the girl in Mr. Magoriums Wonder Emporium who was dancing around in a whirl-wind bring all the life back to what was once dead! A bit theatrical I know, but you get the point <grin>

Heyyyyy last year that ‘Impossible pie’ was a hit! I just gotta play with the mini tornado (the blender) and I have a flat of eggs sitting on the counter just begging to be involved in all this excitement!                                          

Hmmmm now I’m starting to hear a buzz going on about the house…stuff like ‘Ohhh what is Mom cooking?’ ‘That smells sooo good!’ ‘Can we have some now?’.

Great!! You guys aren’t helping <snicker, snicker> The last thing I needed was encouragement!! That blender mixed to quickly! Now I needed another recipe!!

Will this be the last one??

Maybe two more???

Within, well okay, this storm did take a little longer…1 batch of Golden Bars (and they do suit their name…yummmmy!) and 1 tub full of wild-mixed berries gelatin.

Check the time…now I don’t know about your clock…but I could’ve swore it said ‘c-o-f-f-e-e t-i-m-e’ lol But first I better check the refrigerator. FULL!

Yes, it’s a well deserved coffee time. The winds are dying down both outside and in. This storm-chaser’s kettle finally blew the whistle and she’s settling over a cup of steaming coffee.

Never in my life did I pull off so many recipes in ONE morning! and all where perfectly delicious.

We are nearing the end of the best part; eating them all. Some have heard and claimed I was holding out <grin> what a wonderful compliment! My girl-friends were all shocked, as was I, at the feat I accomplished in one stormy morning. But I figured, hey, I was given the time and the energy, run with it! And I did 🙂 Don’t ya just love it when a plan comes together.

“From contentment with little comes happiness.”             

~African proverb~

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Life on the BottomsUp 2/3 Acre and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tornado Season

  1. Dad & Pat says:

    You have a beautiful gift in turning day to day activities into awesome adventures. We enjoyed taste testing the aftermath of the tornado and look forward to more of your adventures.

  2. Now I’m very HUNGRY! Thanks! 😐
    JUST KIDDING! Enjoyed this thoroughly…samples by mail are an absolute MUST next time! 😉

  3. Mike Robbins says:

    Great story!!!! and ALL that food was AWESOME and VERY, VERY YUMMMMYYYY!!!!!
    It’s awesome at what God can do with you!!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

