Lost in Dirt

Lost in Dirt

All it took was the opening of the vertical blinds to look out the window to see if the absence sound of pitter-patter was true that the rain had left us. It was true!  A beautiful bright sky holding white puffs of scattered clouds was welcoming me out. My kind of day had arrived! And, oh look! The first of the tulips and daffodils are opening. Right below them is the dark, warm hypnotic earth known better as dirt!

It captures me with a sudden hold and my memories came flooding in. I can almost feel the warmth of the sun kissing my skin. The tease of the cool dirt between my fingers as I dig in to grab those nasty weeds. My mind gets lost in the thankfulness of escaping the long winter we had endured followed by the rainiest season I can ever remember! We had stuck it out and prayed for the clear skies. And here it is almost pulling me through the window toward my dirt.

When you think about it dirt is the canvas of all that is good. If you’re like me, it’s the playground of good times with family, friends or even when you are alone. You can take dirt and turn it into a mathematical game! Add and multiply in it and yes, sometimes it will subtract and divide. You can build secret gardens that are only limited to your imagination. Create a retreat from this busy world. Good ol’ dirt is an excellent canvas to create a ‘happy place’ for the body, mind, and soul. You can have the best conversations planting and working the garden with family. And with your friends you can pick from your garden together for the meals that bond and build memorable times with each other. I cannot think of a better way to stay close to friends than to share good conversations and the most flavorable meals. All the best of times start in your very own playground.

The pull is getting stronger at the window. I’m such a weakling against it. My other senses are awakening. Can you smell the fresh air stirring up dirt? I can almost see a slimy worm making it’s way through the dirt.. (in my mind’s eye). But without you my little friend I know I wouldn’t have the most beautiful flowers on this dirt road. I hope you and your buddys had a good rest because I have some projects planned for us this spring 😉  

It won’t be long now. ‘Til the beauty we see will be all around us. Flowers, trees, bushes, and vegetables will be bursting with vibrant colors the creator of time gave them. You can just invasion  all the back roads being brought to life from the green, blue and red big wheels throwing up the dust telling us all—It’s time to get started!

Yes!

No! Not yet! I must pull myself back from the window. It’s late afternoon. The middle of the week, and sadly it was only a break in the storms that surround us. It’s okay though; brighter days will be here soon. The days are getting longer because the rooster tells me so. He too is anxious to see my slimy friend in the garden. It’s a good thing for my little worm buddy that the rooster doesn’t like the rain so much 😉

Just a few more days and my family will know where they can find me the most. Out building on the canvas of our thanksgiving. Playing with all the seeds of the foundation. Praying we’ll have more than enough to share to put that ‘Not a Four Letter Word’ on others. Do you see it? Can you feel? There’s excitement in the air!

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Life on the BottomsUp 2/3 Acre and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lost in Dirt

  1. ELAINE TRAHAN says:

    Reading this reminded me of my childhood when I would go out in the garden and “help” my dad “pull weeds”. It was actually the beets he had planted, best “stand” of them he ever had. There is nothing more delightful than the smell of freshly tilled soil to sink your fingers into, and look forward to the fruit of the ground and the reward of your labor. It puts a five letter word on your face.

  2. Mike Robbins says:

    Great job, Honey!!
    My hands are now dirty and smell like a garden so now I have to go and wash up!! lol

  3. Dad & Pat says:

    Even though I’m sitting in front of the computer, I thought for sure that I could smell the excitement and sense a desire to check out what’s growing in the backyard. You painted such a beautiful inviting picture that I think I’ll go outside, dig up some plants and share with some co workers, and Dad is outside prunning the apple tree. See you later…

  4. Ginger Sorg says:

    Wow! You’re getting good at this writing stuff!! Once again, this brought a five letter word to my face:) Can’t wait to go play in the dirt now!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

