Time-Lords

 I just knew that watching so much Dr.Who was going to have an effect on me! I never dreamed that I would write about it though. After all, just how would I tie together a Time-Lord and a farm? Well, just like all my stories it’s quiet simple!

I realized that the ‘BottomsUp 2/3 Acre’ is kind of like the Doctor’s Tardis (time-traveling ‘blue box’). My five senses are by which I can travel back through ‘true to life’ past times. And just like the Doctor, I can travel back in time at any given moment, and sometimes I will go unpredictably. What?

Well, it’s like this… the sound of hearing a snowmobile in the winter-time will send me back to the times of living up in the Far North. A place where you can truly appreciate the winter. There’s tons of snow to actually be able to do all the winter recreation you want to do. Just think all the ice-fishing, ice-skating, snow-machining, tobogganing, snowball fights and bon-fires anytime of winter! And, it’s not as cold as the southern parts because it is a drier cold. Winter just isn’t the same in the south as it is in the north.  It was wonderful up there!

But maybe you could relate better if I send us to the sounds of the chicken coop. As we approach the coop we can hear the sound of beating drums. At first you’ll wonder what kind of ritual is going on in there?  You will realize that there is no specific beat, it’s just the hens pecking at the feeder needing a refill. Then to make you wonder about rituals again, a chicken comes running full-out almost doing the splits in the air with each stride! Her run will always draw quick attention from her family and all go running after her. You see this ‘family’ is not very good at sharing. Hen found something she’s proud of and all her boasting will probably end up in victory of someone else. All is good for us though; she cleared out the coop and the only one left is broody. Broody hen is due any time for her treasured eggs to hatch. With the coop all quiet and us walking in we are greeted with a ‘brrrock’!! followed by some whispers of ‘peep, peep’! Oh what joy!! A new life begins, reminding me again, of hope for our future!  Broody hen now has a new name…Mother hen. She immediately takes on her new role. Judging the world around her with all the evil it holds. No one is innocent of potential harm to her babies. She will guard them with her life. I respect her with space and lovingly admire her with a joyful tear, for in her, I see myself with my first-born.

Phew! sorry needed a kleenx from that trip 😉

Okay, ready to go again 🙂

What about, when you open a window, do you hear another powerful trigger? The simple song bird can lighten a heart. You don’t hear them in the winter. They fade away in the fall. They come back in spring and when you hear them it’s like a breath of fresh rejuvenation of youth and calm. Like Dr. Who rejuvenating himself when needed. Excellent for our imagination, entertainment and love for the show.  Only his way is painful, I wouldn’t want it for real life. Michael Bowers founder of Character Quest on the other hand, has a much healthier, long term approach. But for this moment, it’s a joyful song at the open window. A song tickling your ears and soothing your soul. A melody that only our Creator can orchestrate and bless the song birds with. I grasp the moment to take with as I go about the day. Try it if you haven’t. Listen to the little bird.

                                                          ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How about the sense of smell? My mom always said that a certain dish soap reminds her of her loving grandmother. Just the smell of that dish soap and bamm! Mom’s reliving her wonderful times back on grandma’s farm. She gets this far away look and you can just see from her expression the fondness she has for that time of her life. Occasionally, she’ll share some of those memories of life on ‘Grand-dad’s farm’. Just ask her sometime about ’the cat’. (Funny, every farm has a story about a cat!)

But for me the smell that triggers the farm isn’t as clean as dish soap 😉 Noooo of course mine would have to be closer and down to earth! It would be the smell of horses, chickens, and/or ducks; to be more accurate it’s the smell of what they leave behind that triggers my happy times.

To go back in my past to what smell would be the ‘grandma trigger’ for me, you would need lilacs. Yes, it’s lilac season here. They are out in full force around here, mingling with all the smells of the farm. Between the smells and the traveling in time to the past, I can start to feel the sense of strength, that to me, my grand-mother gave me. A woman who lived in times forgotten and raised to the best of her ability, 12 children. Her stories of survival can still be brought to me through a single flower holding within it multiple, tiny flowers, to renew my faith that we will make it through the rough times. Do you have a ‘Grand-mother trigger’?

There’s the other senses of sight, taste, and touch as well, but if I wrote examples of all of them we would probably become very hungry from the description of a garden. Just the thought alone brings mindful pictures of the tasty canning you can do which leads right into the feeling of prickly cucumbers or the accidental picking of an over ripe strawberry. <grinning, I know I’m rotten>

Are you asking how does that get me to linking us to Time-Lords?

Well, we have just traveled into the past. So how do we travel in the future you might ask?

The answer is always simple ~ Dream it ; act on it.

Our futures are what we seek and how we act on what we seek. I was born a city girl but loved the action in the country. I dreamed of the country and took action whenever, and wherever it could help me achieve that dream. I stayed close to those who had the same love of life and learned as much as I could for my future life in the country. Now don’t get me wrong it wasn’t all ‘easy- peasy’ as it sounds. Just like Dr.Who, I did and still do get those ’Daleks and Cybermen’ trying to stop my future and change my dreams. But you know what? You know that quirky little smile Dr. Who gets when he is presented with an unexpected challenge?  Well, I’ve figured out that, that quirky little smile chases away FEAR and ANXIETY! Without fear and anxiety the impossible becomes probable.  Immediately following his quirky smile he’ll either make a statement that compliments creation or one of wonderment of how things function. Calmness sets in and problem solving begins. Dreams are possible again.

And here I am living my dream. All my dreams in past have come true.  Some took longer than others, but I didn’t quit (you can’t quit)…….. All my dreams of the future WILL come true too. I will never run out of dreams to chase; windows will always open. And the more I achieve, the bigger the past time grows to relive! Isn’t that like our beloved fictional character Dr.Who, a Time-Lord?

What do you dream? Or better yet…Who, do you dream to become?

“To days to come; All my love to long ago.” Dr. Who

“We are happy when for everything inside us there is a corresponding something outside us.” ~William Butler Yeats, Irish poet and playwright~

(C) Mammy Oaklee

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Time-Lords

  1. Dad & Pat says:

    Many times we are simply content with whatever comes our way instead of taking steps to live our dreams. We loved how you involved your audience to dream with you, guiding us to dream and to desire to reach our full potential. Awesome!

  2. Sharen Prine says:

    Such a wonderful way to start my day…reading this! 🙂 So heartwarming to read what you write! Now I’m gonna have to check out Dr. Who!

  3. Amy Rose says:

    Great one Mammy… The smells of the farm eh, still love and always will love the smell of a warm horse, definatly my favourite smell in the world. Don’t get me wrong, the smells of frying bacon and eggs is good too but, just not the same memories. I will run into women who wore the same perfume as my Mom and it takes me back and gives me hug every time.
    What do I wanna be when I grow up………. Hmmmm Who ever really knows, loving, giving, respected, hard working, and loved of course are all that should really matter… Thanks for the great story, looking forward to many more.

  4. Mike Robbins says:

    Great story, brings out fond and stinky memories as you read it, but wonderful they are. I always enjoy going back in time to remember the good times.

  5. ELAINE TRAHAN says:

    I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!! YOU HAVE MANAGED TO MAKE ME CRY AND LAUGH, GO FORWARD AND BACKWARD IN TIME ALL IN ONE STORY. MY “GRANMA TRIGGER” IS THE SEWING MACHINE. MY GRANDMOTHER WAS THE SEAMSTRESS OF TOWN, DOING EVERYTHING FROM ALTERATIONS TO MAKING THE WEDDING GOWNS, HEADPIECES, EVEN THE FLOWERS FOR THE GIRLS TO CARRY. MY GRANNY WOULD BE SO PROUD OF ME AND SO SHOCKED AT THE TECHNOLOGY OF THE MACHINES TODAY. I AM REMINDED EVERYDAY OF HER AND HER SMILE. I LOVE THE “TIME MACHINE” AND ALL THAT IT BRINGS.

  6. Jen says:

    I’ve never seen Dr. Who but this makes me want too! lol! My “Grandma Trigger” is big tight bear hugs with a bit of rocking! Also she kept a candy drawer in her kitchen with miniature candies in it! In the spring they had a loadful of frogs in the yard that we loved playing with in the thick lushes of grass! I don’t know what God has in store for me but my dream is seeing and getting to know my grandparents better! I love your stories and letting us see you through these “True Tales”!! What an awesome trip back or forward in time!!

  7. (Standing Ovation) BRAVO! BRAVO! Funny how our blue box can be anything because its “heart” is within us at all times. 🙂

  8. Ginger Sorg says:

    It’s so true! Certain sounds AND smells take me back to my childhood!
    As for “who” I want to be when I grow up? Like all of us, I want to be a person of REAL character, filled with wisdom patience, and trustworthiness:)
    Great article Mammy! Guess I’m gonna have to jump on the band-wagon and start watching some Dr. Who!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

