Coffee Cake & Family

You just never know how much the simplest of things can turn out to mean so much–especially to those you never met.

This short story is in honour of my Grandma and with permission of my mom. You might wonder why I would ask for permission. Well, you see, I have never met my Grandma. She passed away when my mom was still very young. Mom’s memories are few and precious. She has shared them, what little there is, in such an honourable way that we have nothing but good to look forward too. One of those memories was handed down by Grandpa through a recipe, Coffee Cake. He said that whenever company would come, Grandma disappeared into the kitchen and whip up a batch of coffee-cake, so fast that no-one knew she had done it! That is until, during their socializing the house would start filling with the most delicious aroma making all feel wanted and hungry to stay J

A short, sweet, simple story of Grandma and coffee cake tells me, her grand-daughter who she never knew, so much about her. When I think about it, it tells me, she loved people. Disappearing and without asking, setting up an ambush with a delicious aroma tells me, she doesn’t like ‘no’ for an answer. She is a fiesty go-get-her sort of gal who goes for what she wants and  she is no push over either. She also loved to serve and please others. And  finally, Grandma had taste.

Mom says Grandma is going to just love me when we meet. She thinks we are a lot alike. So, since she’s already been in the practise of ambushing, I’m getting a head start on her and taking the love of her heart first!

In honour of Grandma M. who never knew she left such a precious gift…Mom and I share with you, her Coffee-cake recipe.

May you become great at winning the hearts of those you never knew, as she did.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

 

 

Coffee Cake

 (Dad told me that Mom used to make this as soon as company arrived, never even looking at the recipe)

 

½ cup butter                    ½ cup sugar

                                               2 eggs (well beaten)         1 tsp baking soda in 1cup

                                               1 ½ cup flour                                     soured cream*

                                               1 tsp vanilla                       1 ½ tsp baking powder

                  *to make soured cream add 2 Tbsp vinegar in 1cup milk.

Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Mix a topping of 1Tbsp cinnamon in ¼ cup sugar and swirl in cake.

Bake in 8” square cake pan at 350 for approximately 1 hour or until toothpick comes out clean.

Best served with coffee, family and friends 😀

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coffee Cake & Family

  1. Deborah Lamm says:

    I never knew my grandparents, and never had any of their recipes. Thanks for sharing yours. Can’t wait to try it for my quests.

  2. Deborah Lamm says:

    I never knew my grandparents, and never had any of their recipes. Thanks for sharing yours. Can’t wait to make it up for my quests.

  3. Ken & Pat says:

    Tears of joy filled my eyes when I read this, the memories it brings back are beautiful. Thank you

  4. Sharen Prine says:

    Thanks for sharing! After reading this, it sounds like you are a lot like you grandmother! 🙂

  5. I really love this!! Just looking forward to meeting someone we have heard so much about is a treasure to look forward to! I’ve been told I’m a lot like my grandma while my sister is more like my grandpa. It’s strange how that happens!!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

