Out of Order

I’m just sitting here in my cave, so to speak, having retreated from all that has gone wrong, since we returned from our family reunion. It’s funny, how things can get all piled up like an over-bearing, fire-breathing dragon about to crush you. From the little things needing fixing, to the new things that awaited for your return to surprise you and bite you in the emptied pocket-book. Right on into the unexpected ‘slow down’, to NO  employment. Nice! (tongue in cheek)  So many of life’s trials piled up on top of the typical, fall, head-cold that is running it’s course through the whole family. Enough to drive someone into a retreat of…

(back in the distance of the writer’s mind becomes a loud but clear protest)

 “OUT OF ORDER! YOU’RE OUT OF ORDER! (sound of a gavel hitting the desk, Bam! Bam!) YOU’RE OUT OF ORDER, MAMMY!!         “Why are you starting your first season’s post back, with such depression? That’s not finding a smile! You are supposed to be sharing all the happy and fun times!”

Awww come on now folks…are you going to sit there and pretend I’m not human too? Are you going to tell me, you aren’t feeling the slightest bit of glum since the reunion ended? Come on now. I’ve heard you say it. I have seen you write it. And I’ve felt the same way too. “This sucks!”

Now having voiced that feeling, I’ll quickly say it’s not directed at the Author of time and of seasons. But like a child whose parent said, ‘come on now my Love, the party is over. It’s time to go back to school.’

Oh the heaviness of heart! You feel your face pull down.  Awwww, yeah, you know the look. The pouty face look. Just like this one, that was posted recently by one of our very own and muchly loved, who is also suffering through ‘post-parted family reunion blues.’

 

 

And in a protest we’ve said, “but I want to stay here with You.” Only to receive the gentle but loving push, back out to the real world of today.

Just like a child, I head back out. Hanging my head low and dragging my feet. As I dragged myself out into the world for battle. Ready in my armour that I had given a new polish in preparation to slay all the dragons, conquer all the demons, and defend our castles for another year.

But as I head out into reality, my protest fades, and my mind is brought to remembrance of all the good that had been had, at the best family reunion ever! Sure I know, I say that every year. And every year it is true, because with my maturity of age, I have learned more of the true values of happiness and of finding smiles. It begins with the embracing of the inner-child and the grasping of simplicity in all good things that bring true joy.

Leaving all of the complicated tactics and competitiveness behind and seeking to put a smile on someone else’s face. This has become my most inner hearts desire. And it becomes heightened every year at our family reunion. To have this opportunity to physically see each other and embrace in a long-lost friend type hug that says “I sincerely missed you”. This simple act alone can trigger over-whelming tears of joy. Then, to have a full week of listening to each other, to laugh together and to encourage one another, in all this we are strengthened. 

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not for just once a year. I try to do this everyday, al-be-it is harder with us all being spread out, but it’s certainly not impossible these days. And thankfully, because without the drive to achieve this ‘speaking often to one another’, I begin to feel lost and alone. A feeling I don’t like at all. So like a child, I must get better at bouncing back. I must be quicker at coming out of my cave and taking the bumps and bruises, scrapes and band aids. Absorbing the ‘rest times’ to heal and to rejuvenate to live to fight another day.

Like the stuff dreams are made of, this ‘rest’, this ‘time out with family’ was the best ever! Even the things that I had looked forward to all year, the ones that didn’t happen, didn’t only because there were other things to do in it’s place that were better! Like the golf cart party vs. the bon-fire party with more family and endless supply of good food! The bon-fire still accomplished the goal of bonding closer with family and considering how cold it got this year, that bon-fire made the bonding warm and cozy.

The memories of the family dance with the Pirate theme was a huge success! So many of our families showed up for that. The work that went into building the ship was the special key that helped make that night a most memorable one for all who came! For what is a pirate without a ship? Arrrrggg J And completed with a fish fry too!! Did I mention I hate fish. Correction…I USE TO hate fish. That fish fry was totally awesome! I gots to get me that recipe, me hearty.

The cotton candy, zip cord, bouncy-house day was like a fair for all children big and old! Another successful day! And ‘hats off’ to those children who were outstandingly patient in waiting what seemed like a FOREVER line up for that zip cord ride. They set a good example in using the time to enjoy getting to know each other better, even in a line up!

Then there was the food, and more food, AND more food of all types! Barbecue food, pot-luck food, crock-pot food and going out to restaurants! Seems my family loves to eat all kinds of food! For the good health of the body, mind and spirit, if we can digest it we’ll attempt to eat it!

The once a year chance, my entire family getting to load up on all the ‘good stuff’ ….unlimited. All our heart’s desire is filled to the brim. We dance. We play.  We eat. We cry tears of joy. Like this young man, with a child-like heart of freedom to dance in joy, my family carried this expression for a week…

 

And so, in remembrance of what can be, and what we all dream will be very soon, I’ll leave this post to be ‘Out of Order’ as you once thought 😉 or is it?

                                                                                                                    (C) Mammy Oaklee 🙂

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Life on the BottomsUp 2/3 Acre and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Out of Order

  1. Sharen Prine says:

    I, too, have been having a hard time finding my smile since being back! It is wonderful to know that we are definitely not alone! Thanks so much for this wonderful story…enjoyed it so much! All of this just makes you look forward even more to the time when 8 days will turn into an eternity!!!

  2. Ann Van Etten says:

    Loved reading this. Thank you.

  3. Ken & Pat says:

    Really captured how we feel as well. Wow what an awesome time! Welcome back Mammy!

  4. A much needed dose of warming TONIC for these colder darker days! A+!

  5. Ginger Sorg says:

    teehee!! thanks for the reminder of all the ‘good times’ ….they can fad fast when hit with reality !

  6. Sadness and happiness all in one story!! But yes!! Exactly how I’ve been feeling to!! The topsy turvy things happening here after the feast has been crazy! Just loving the happy times of 8 wonderful days with family!! Well here’s off to another to grow closer to God and the wonderful family he has given us!! Love you!!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

