Commitments

Commitments easily made; easily broken. That seems to be the trend these days. People seem to know what a good thing is and rush right in with commitments with little thought of the cost to keep a commitment.

In this I’m coming from the angle of little commitments, or if you rather, promises made; promises broken. Like recently, I committed to try my very best in a challenge that the rest of the writers of this world are doing. They call it NANOWRIMO. The acronym for National Novel Writing Month.

You see the rest of the writers have committed to write a certain amount of words per day/every day of the month of November on a novel they have decided to write. And from what I can see (without literally signing up to this), they fill out a form to sign up and register their particulars of who and what.

The few of my chosen favorite writers that I am watching write anywhere from 1,667 – 5000 word counts per day and that’s just for NANOWRIMO!!! Never mind the blogging, tweeting, and facebooking they do!

Could you imagine!! Writing 5000 words a day!! That would be my whole novel! Bam! Day one, novel written. Now I would spend the next 29 days tweaking and editing it haha.

Obviously, I am not ready for any such of a challenge of this sort. After all, I’ve only become a blog writer this past spring! Now having said that, and because I love writing so much, I want to become a better writer. So, I have decided that I cannot excuse myself from this challenge. I figure, so what I’m not up to their par (yet). The only way for me to get there would be to take the challenge. Just one thing. I’ve never even written a novel! And I’ll be the first to admit, I haven’t a clue how to begin one. Still, I know this is not an excuse for me not to try the challenge at least. So, I accept the challenge and just tweak it to be a suitable challenge for myself.

I have set the standard to be high enough that it gives me a constant drive to push myself everyday to my max. When all is said and done, there will be no doubt that I will have grown immensely toward my furthering myself as a writer. Either that or….nahhhh!

We are in the 8th day of November. The tweaks that I made for my challenge are to write 1000 word count, per day with weekends off. (note: each of my preivous posts averaged a 1000 word count and tooke me 1 -2 weeks to write!) And, why do I take weekends off? Simple, I am a writer by choice with higher previous commitments that require weekends off. When I make a commitment I stick to it with all the stick-to-itivness I’ve got. And yes, that is a word. I’ve heard it used a thousand times!

So, as I said earlier, I’m in my 8th day with the rest of the writers of this world who committed to the challenge, and I am in a huge struggle to get down my 1000 word count for the second time already!

No, it’s not the ever insisting blank page staring back at me. No, it’s not that I can’t grasp an idea that keeps running around corners with me two blocks behind. It’s the ever pounding, pressure in my head that I got last night before bed. You know the kind, where your eyeballs feel like you’ve taken a round in the ring with the Canadian, Heavyweight George Chuvalo!

Now is this an excuse to bail out and quit? By no means what so ever! This doesn’t make me any more special than the other writers of the world. They all have different ailments of life, different set backs and obstacles that make an already tough challenge more challenging.

Yes, the Canadian boxer who it’s been said, “was never knocked down in his ninety-three professional fights between 1956 and 1979.” How awesome is that! George Chuvalo also had the reputation of having the worlds greatest chin for boxing. Now if this means he could take it well on the chin, then I think he’s a great example for anyone who wishes to surpass all the road bumps, detours, and obstacles that get in our way of promises made.

The ones who will be standing in the end of this NANOWRIMO challenge, will be the ones who persevered through it all. They will have stayed steadfast the course to which they committed to. Through the blank pages, the brain freezes, the head colds, migraines, wild tantrums, and pulling our hair out we stayed the course. Chasing our imaginations that were fleeing the work ahead to go on vacation, still we stayed the course. The result will be the successful ones advancing in their writing careers.

And yet there are still a few that will surpass even this, because they know that with the commitment made, by using perseverance and steadfastness to a promise made and applying it to all aspects of their life, they will be a much more rounded person. A person who will be successful in everything they set out to do. Not just only in a writing career, but in everything. You will find that their personal relationships are grounded. You will find their families committed to each other. You will find that a simple promise made, will by the utmost be kept.

Sure I know, there’s emergencies that occur and throw a nasty ol’ wrench in situations. I, if anybody, knows that. And thus, you are forced to regrettably break a promise made. But hopefully by now, you have achieved, in all your relationships a firm foundation. They all  know that there was no other way around it, and it is not your heart to make a hasty promise with which you would abandon on a whim. By now it would be known that you would try, pretty much anything, to keep that commitment, even so much as taking it on the chin. Getting up in-between rounds/naps while sick to do what needs doing. All in all, you are known to give of yourself for others, because your word is gold.

And so, on my 8th day of my challenge I have persevered through all my commitments. I kept my gloves on, and resisted the temptation to hang them up. I have completed another day and succeeded in getting my word count in. Now I can go back to bed, and nurse this splitting migraine. My promise made and kept to the best of my ability. Word count is 1042 before editing.

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Commitments

  1. ELAINE TRAHAN says:

    What a wonderful example of perseverance for us all. I am sure there will be “good stuff” coming on because of this. Thanks for the reminder that we are our own worst enemy sometimes.

    • mammyoaklee says:

      Oh you know it Elaine!
      There are some really exciting, and funny posts to come 🙂
      Thanks a bunch for reading…many buckets of love to you 😛

  2. Amy Rose says:

    Great one today Mammy. It is definitely a good thing for minds and bodies to set goals and stick to em!

  3. Mike Robbins says:

    A great inspiration to give us, to make us want to achieve and keep our goals that we have set for ourselves. Great writing!!

  4. Reminds me of the song ‘Eye of the Tiger’ “Rising up to the challenge of our rival…” our biggest rival is our selves and the negativity and doubt that we put into our own trials and troubles. These exercises like the one you have done are profound for building character and the discipline that we need to live useful lives. Thank you for such and AWESOME example!

    • mammyoaklee says:

      Thank you Michael! It was a very tough challenge to do and exhilarating at the sametime! Not allowing a defeat despite the temptations and pain, only made the win that much more sweeter.

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

