Final Word Count

FINAL WORD COUNT

( As the title says, the following is the final word count post written on the last day of November. I figured I’d edit the first and last posts first and get them out right away. From Commitment to Final Word Count they kind of go together hand in hand amplifying encouragement to be successful).

It all began the month of September, when I noticed there became a lot of chatter in the writer’s world about something called NANOWRIMO. Don’t worry I did not know what NANOWRIMO was either, and being to afraid to ask someone, I searched the web (I Google Wikipedia 😉 for the meaning of this, well, whatever it is. Turns out that NANOWRIMO is an acronym for National Novel Writers Month. Any writer who signs up must write as much as they can each day of the month (1667- to skies the limit!!). So that is what all the hubbub is about.

So on November 1st, after much thought on this idea, I decided to unofficially accept the challenge to better myself. Of course only being fresh out of the starting gate of the writer’s world, I did have to tweak the rules for myself before committing to this. (You can read all about this and the challenges in the post Commitment.)

As naïve as I was, I was determined to give it my best try. After all, I figured that there was no way I could fail if I tried. I set my sights high and tough. I was well aware that I might not make it half way. There could be a chance that I might only make a scattered progress, but just same for me, it was worth the chance to grow. I’m not sure what my family thought of any of this. Maybe they thought I was nuts??? That wouldn’t be unusual, and they would be right. I thought I was nuts trying this too. But hey! If you truly believe all things are possible…..then it’s good to step out of the box and try something that might be impossible. If it’s a good thing, then you just might be surprised J I believed what I was setting out to do was a very good thing to try. I was right.

Today, I am shocked that I am sitting here on November 30th feeling bittersweet as I type out my last word count for the year. For thirty straight days, I was living all the excitement of the true writer’s world. And trust me honey, there’s nothing boring about it!

When it all began I would sit here and stare at a blank screen, waiting, waiting, thinking and stressing myself out! Then I would grin, because I would see a lot of other writers writing posts all about this. Hey, I fit right in, I thought. But then, I remembered something I heard a teacher say about how he puts his teaching assignments together. He spoke about what he is was struggling with right down to the two days before it was due, and then he remembered. He remembered that if you are going to do something good that seems impossible you must include that who makes the impossible, possible.

Now I’m not saying it was easy after I remembered this. Oh no! I still went through all the highs and lows of emotions that you see the Hollywood writing actors go through. I understand now that the life that goes on around a writer will dictate the emotion to that which is written. Huh! Good thing I write about all that is around me 😉 Otherwise, I’d probably have to lock myself away in one of those dark dungeons of a hermit writer. Could you imagine!?! Forget it, don’t go there! Ugg! No way is that for me! I prefer to write about the life we chose to live, and the overcoming to reach the goals we set to achieve the life we dream of. These are good stories from good hearts, and can all be found here in The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre. Now that’s something worth imagining! J

At first you wonder if living such a life would get boring. You’ll run out of things to write about real quick! Yep, sure could be that way. But after a few pacing the floor, staring at a blank screen, raiding the chips from the cupboard, and stomping on the floor, I knew that this could fail dramatically quicker than I had hoped. Even the ducks and chickens were looking at me with a blank stare!! How sad is that!

Okay now, you can stop nodding your head at me. I know you are way head of me. And no worries, this did not go on for long. I knew what was needed and I did whisper a prayer everyday, but what I had to learn was how to be relaxed and listen.

Just imagine, you are under a time limit every single day and your goal is to accomplish something everyday that you never did before in your life! You have committed to this, and you have the stick-to-itiveness to do it. It’s just a tiny bit of stress (tongue in cheek)!

The only way out, is to relax, listen, and watch.

I did, and the more I did, the easier it got. The stories that came were awesome!! Some came through the weather! Some came from a child sing a song! Some from a smile, the meaning of a day, and even from something hurtful. But no matter where they came from, they all bring a smile, a tear, laughter and everyone lives happily ever-after!

One such story was even such a beautiful dance to write that I broke a record for having written any of my posts! I was so excited about this one, that I could not wait to share it. So I did, and it was as I thought. The one who I shared it with was the one who need a smile early. Now that’s a compliment!

To write is to live life to the fullest for me. To be open, listening, and watching for that good thing to write, isn’t always easy, but it is possible.

Yes, I’m going to go religious on you for a bit. Like those who win Grammys, Olympic medals, or those who have learnt how to re-live a life after a severe health issue, I feel that I too accomplished what was impossible for me at this time. So I give all credit to my God. I thank Him for providing me with topics to write and the skills to do so. For everyday that I committed to the month of November, He saw me through. For without Him this never would have been possible.

I also thank my family for supporting me through this, and cheering me on. And, to those on the home-front, my beloved ‘guinea-pigs’, who tolerated me reading aloud to them the all the posts.

And now, through the tears in my eyes because of the bitter-sweet grief of a beautiful adventure coming to a successful close, I end this chapter. It’s time to start through another open the door….the dooor of editing all those posts written!! Then, perfecting them to a polished gift for you. I’m getting goose bumps at just thinking of what’s in store to come! And the extra surprise that will be shared along with the posts. Be watching my loves, be listening….it won’t be long now. J

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Final Word Count

  1. Ok sister with love…. You Got It going On Sounds Like Inspiring From Above.

  2. Ann Van Etten says:

    Looking forward to them all.

  3. Amy Rose says:

    Beautiful, well done. Merry Christmas, and we look forward to more in the new year. 😀

  4. Ken & Pat says:

    Beautiful article, congratulations on your part with the impossible and proving to those around you how to make the impossible, Possible!

  5. I do look forward to seeing the fruits of your loving labor!! Reading your stories is like a breath of fresh air!! Keep it up!! Job very well done!!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

