Can You Imagine?

Can You Imagine?

It was not long ago, on a brisk fall Saturday, that I was sitting in my kitchen listening to a study. (Yes, writers do a lot of studies, researching, and plain old reading. It would seem we do more of this than the actually writing itself).

Anyway, I was listening to a teacher, one who I listen to frequently, and I heard him say a particular line that is partial for him. “Can you imagine?”, he repeatedly asked. “Can you imagine?” Whenever I hear this question, I DO try to imagine whatever the speaker is asking me. I do this because it puts more LIFE into every subject I try to imagine. What was asked of me in words no longer sit as words in my mind, the subject starts to form action in my mind.

The beginning of imagining is quite simple. It starts with a word. Yes, it can be a simple word, or a complete sentence of words. Words become thoughts, and thoughts can become that which you seek. In order to seek something you have to imagine it. Meditate on it. Yearn for it. Imagine it in as many details as possible. I have found that being able to ‘imagine’ on good things, makes more good things possible. To ponder and give life to my good thoughts helps me reach physically, to achieve that which I seek. What I seek, is what I dream and imagine.

How often I have said to someone, “Can you imagine that!?” Only to see a glazed- over blank stare, knowing full well that they only hear words. They have missed, the boat! The climax of the experience trying to be shared with them stopped at the end of the sentence with a period, when it should have continued in thought with the zeal of an exclamation point! How sad, that the best part of the story was lost.

I questioned myself why I was seeing this. I began to wonder how much of a life-style has played a part in losing how to use our imaginations. According to Webster’s dictionary the word, imagine is a verb (an action word). The definitions for good things are; 1) to form a mental image (of something not present), plan, and 2) believe. So, if I’m keeping my mind busy in action of things that are good, then it’s good common sense that my thoughts will lead to good actions to the lay out of my future, leading to my dreams coming true. How fantastic is that!! Just imagine!!!! To dream a dream with no holding back. No strings attached. To turn that dream into a goal of life. And believe in it. To imagine that goal in as many possible details as your mind will give you. The more you meditate on it, and take the steps toward it, the more your imagination will come up with details to form something that is not YET present.

“If you can imagine it, you can do it; if you can dream it you can become it.” A quote from William Arthur Ward (1921-1994) a very famous American writer.

The best part of imagining is that anyone, yes anyone, can do this. There is no favour in gender, age, financial status, or educational degrees. There are no negatives of, I can’t, what if’s, I’m not good enough, I’m not smart enough, old enough, or too old to do that. Imagining is free for all who choose to live to the fullest height in all that is good. Imagining can put detail and make intimate all of your private thoughts. It adds life, and your belief heightens. Can you imagine!?

Now true to the dark, stressful days of this age, some would have you believe that dreams are only foolishness. “They lead to one thinking they can do that which is not possible.” “Quit chasing that which is unattainable.” “The world is not that way.” “It’s a dog eat dog world!” “Get with reality!” “You dream on such good things that are not possible.” “You can’t live like that; nobody lives like that.” “You must take what you can.”

Yes, I have pretty much heard them all, and you have probably too. Most likely, you could add a few more. We are constantly battered by negatives. We are constantly held down and told what we can’t do. It’s all good and great for those who are inclined to think to do bad things. But I question, why should all the good things be grouped in that scenario? Yes, that is tongue in cheek again, I know the answer. There’s the competitive streak in all of us. Still, I won’t give in to that. When someone asks me, “Can you imagine that?” and I deem it to be good and worthy, then that is just what I’m going to do! I’m going to put to action the words and thoughts that are not YET present! I’m going to bring the feeling of joy, to the dream and goals that are good to seek.

‘Awwwww hog-wash! You live in a fairy-tale world!’ I’ve heard. Hmmmm, well what can I say? Some are just content with their “dog eat dog world“, and then they go home to take their Prozac to live to fight another day. Why are all good thoughts and the imagining of them in detail, discarded and caulked up to being a ‘fairy-tale’?? Well, it’s just sad. Yes, our daily work-week hours, keep us dosed up enough with the reality of this world. To come home and ‘relax’ in front of the ‘boob-tube’ …what in the world!! Really!! No, I think not. To have the negative imaginations of others blasted in my face for the remaining hours of the day, well, that just isn’t my kind of imagination put to life! Just imagine what kind of a world we’ll have, if what is constantly shown on TV, is imagined? Chills. That kind of painted a reality picture didn’t it!

So then, as given to me, I use my freedom of choice. Call it what you want, I choose to imagine, a better life. I choose to surround myself with all those positive people who believe that the weakest can become the strongest. That no one is left behind, and that all things are possible….

Imagine that!!

(C) Mammy Oaklee

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Can You Imagine?

  1. Sharen Prine says:

    Imagination is a wonderful and powerful thing! Without it, we wouldn’t be able to see the exciting future that He has planned for us! What a dreary life we would lead without it! All you have to do is imagine that all of this is only temporary…except for that which is most important!

    • Mammy Oaklee says:

      Yes Sharen, without imagining our futures we would be without a purpose. Sadly, so many are and just walk through life.
      Thankfully, we charge life with zealousness and encourage as many as we can 🙂
      Have a beautiful day 😀

  2. Mike Robbins says:

    What a super story!! I wouldn’t have been able to get through life without an imagination!! Had to make up a lot of games and things for myself to do since there weren’t computers and video games back then… Now comes the time to imagine what the future will be like and how we will be!!!! AWWW just imagine!!!!

    • mammyoaklee says:

      Right on Mike! Like a child using his/her imagination for games (and the games continue to grow in detail the more they are played), we can use it to put to action the dreams we seek that are not “yet” present (always growing and perfecting).

  3. Pat says:

    I remembered being told when I was younger that I love happy endings (didn’t matter the story or circumstance). In the grand scheme of things I can see a happy ending for all who can imagine positive dreams and goals and the encouragement to go for it 🙂

  4. Elaine Trahan says:

    Mom always told me that I had a very “active imagination”. I never really understood what she meant until I played barbie with real life barbies. I owned a bridal shop for many, many years. I let them describe to me what they wanted in a gown, I created that dream gown for them – one of a kind gowns. To see the smiles on their faces warmed my heart. To take their imagined fairy tale gown to reality would stoke my creative imagination. I felt like I walked down that aisle with them. One day, we will all take that walk, and I am sure it will be in a gown that we cannot even imagine.

  5. Ginger Sorg says:

    Do you want to know what I imagine!? All of us joyfully working together for a very very long time! And this bride walking to a beautiful musical procession to meet her groom:))) Thx Sis for making it clear why we should imagine!

    • mammyoaklee says:

      🙂 Must be a ‘family thing’ Ginger, because I imagine the same thing! Although, I will admit, my bride has the shakes as she’s walking, because she really wants to RUN to that finish line! LOL

  6. Karen Coakley says:

    excellent story – keep up the good work

  7. I do a lot of imagining myself! I imagine the promises that are ahead of us! This is a great way to start off a day! Can I just imagine that one day the kids I see everyday that are so angry and disrespectful will see a better way?! Yes I can!! But I also believe it to come true!! There are so many wonderful things to imagine we could be doing it all day!!

  8. CREATING happiness or mustering the courage to live our dreams is no different that fixing breakfast in the morning…we just have to apply the effort. With practice we learn that we can control lour emotions, attitudes and outlook. I love your way of presenting the rule of positive thinking…positive thoughts and affirmed beliefs don’t change the world…they change us and give us power to change the world one circumstance at a time.
    Thank you for sharing this meditation for the day!
    MB

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

