Love From Scratch Grows

Can you imagine my surprise the morning I login to my blog and there waiting for me was this long message from no other than our Ben!!

Yes, you know the one….the very same Ben I mentioned in the first story ‘Love From Scratch‘, just last week. The one with a heart for others, who we have affectionately dubbed, our “Cookie Monster”.

Well, after reading this message, I immediately thought to myself, ‘Well, sorry Ben but this just won’t do! This cannot just sit here in comments, it would rarely be seen! So, my dear friend you are getting a post 😉

Here is what our beloved ‘Cookie Monster’ left for us all:

“George told me that you said these were your favorite kind of cookie, and as I recall, they’re what he brought home the first time, in case you’d like to try making them as well (apologies for the lax formatting – I’m not sure if HTML is allowed in comments).

[No-Bake Cookies]

Ingredients:

2 cups white sugar                                 1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup cocoa powder                          (1/8 tsp) Pinch  salt

1/4 cup butter or margarine              1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup milk                                            3 cups oatmeal

Preparation:

1. Combine sugar, cocoa powder, milk, and butter / margarine in a large pot over medium heat

2. Cook until mixture starts to boil, and let stand, stirring occasionally, for exactly one minute

3. Add vanilla extract, salt, peanut butter, and oatmeal – quickly stir ’til combined

4. Drop by spoonfuls onto wax paper, and allow to cool

Enjoy~”

No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Suggestions:  I like to add raisins to these.                                                               This could probably be made easy on the woodstove…I want to try it that way, next.

To our Cookie Monster (Ben), we thank you from our hearts for adding much joy to lives. For adding CHOCOLATE !!!! 😀

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love From Scratch Grows

  1. Amy Rose says:

    Make these all the time, so quick and easy if you only get a half hour warning of company coming, or realizing at 11 pm that you have no cookies for lunches the next day! Be careful though, I have polished off half a dozen in one sitting! Thanks to Ben!!

    • Amy!!! Yes, you are sooo correct, they are too easy to polish off. Even hiding them didn’t work. The George had to make a second batch just so I could get a picture of them before they were gone!! (Been missing you 🙂 I just checked in on you today..hope all is well).