Growing UP

Sprouts and Seedlings Growing Up

 It will be a whole year, May 4th, that I started this new adventure. This blog that held potential for me to succeed, or to at the very least be able to cross off another dream on my list in the attempts of trying to succeed. Either way, I would win. I moved the idea from my imagination to a physical action, making the dream of becoming a successful writer a strong potential.

Did you ever have a dream to do or be something, but were to afraid of nurturing that idea? Well this was me, with my idea of being a writer for many years. I was faced with all sorts of obstacles that kept this idea from even beginning to sprout from the seed planted in my mind. Yes, most of which was fear that was planted all around me. Fear was ready at the slightest notion that I would get to write something, anything, and it would be quick to reach out and choke off the love for writing. I’ll be willing to bet that, that happens to you with your dream too.

 Well thankfully, the very One who planted that seed long ago, is a patient Gardener. He knew given all the time and experiences needed for stories to tell, coupled with overcoming fears that, that little seed would start to sprout, and grow when there was enough good brought together. Slow and sure, other seeds that produce the same good were brought together. Just as other farmers/gardeners find each other in like mind and meet up at coffee shops, blogs, fb pages, writers too will flock together around their watering holes. (Thankfully, I have found one that groups all 3 of my likes 🙂 )

It was through stumbling around the giant FB watering hole that like minds were drawn together through good hearts of expressing their likes and dreams. Encouragement was fed in abundance to the seeds in need of it, and those who wanted to grow.

 Now I know, that I was not the only seed out there that found this. I know this because, as those who saw me one year ago and can see how much I have grown…well, I also see how you have grown too.

Checking back to the stories one year ago and comparing (now most writers would start shouting now NO DON’T! you only want your readers to see your best…but, I’m not most writers. There’s no shame in seeing someone grow.) I see that there’s a huge leap from a dormant seed to a sprout, leaping to a seedling! It truly is exciting to have experienced so much growth in one year!

From Crayons, to Pen, to Keyboard / From a Seed, to Sprout, to a Tree

 From the time of the first sprouting in May to the end of November was the best for me! And in hind-sight now, if I would’ve looked at my writing and how I am drawing this story now, it would’ve been no surprise to know then, what I know now. And that is, for every time there is a season.

 After November, this seed’s growth began to slow down to a quiet pace. Slowing down and enjoying a moment, then the focusing on details began. Just like weeding around in a garden. Detailing and structuring is given to start helping with the maturing of the seedlings dream.

Then it hit! As with all times of seasons there is the cold time. A time when one must survive on the growth and storage that there was. All is good for those who paced out, for they will survive. But all will be better for those who not only stored and paced, but also continued to stay close to others during the hard and dormant season. The hard, cold dormant season that proves who is weak and who is strong. It can be as deadly as the original fear from the beginning in it’s deceitfulness. Truly it can, because dormant for the strong and mature are not really sleeping at all, but growing!

(And you know what? In hind-sight, I’m just seeing this now! And I am SO THANKFUL I didn’t quit!)

When March hit with all of life’s trials, the pen stopped. A month slammed full of good times to their fullest and hard times just as equally. Some would have you call it ‘cabin fever’ and others ‘a never-ending story’. Whatever you dubbed this time, it was HARD. So hard, that this writer did not have the desire to write. My ‘happy place’ out in the garden, lay still and untilled. It was still to early here to start that. And before I knew it, March was drawing to a close. Slower than I would’ve liked, but closing just the same. That’s when I realized that a story never went out!! For the first time in almost a year, a month went by without a story!!

I started to feel like a failure as a writer. After coming so far and to let down with only two months to the anniversary of success! Or did I?

{Here’s the Happy Part }

No, I didn’t. Just as in all other occupations of life, all success must play the part of a balanced routine. The dormant season is part of that. For the wise will fall quiet by still water to listen, and learn at a much deeper depth that reaches the roots. Hard, cold weather is given to strengthen the very core of it all.

So what really happened to The Heart of the BottomsUP in the month of March? We grew stronger! We grew closer! We laughed harder! And we strengthened the very Heart of it all!

We will have more smiles to bring you, more laughter, more joy and more happy tears from our Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre!

So Happy ’almost’ Anniversary!!! We are a SUCCESS!!!

Starting to Burst Out After a Cold Season

Dear Friends

And all of this can happen to you and your dream too….Happy Growing 🙂

“It could happen” ~ Angels In the Out-Field

                                                           

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Growing UP

  1. Ann Van Etten says:

    Keep up the good work.

  2. Liz says:

    Great Post! I always tell my children, When I grow up I want to . . (fill in the blank). And they say- “But you are already Grown up!”. . I tell them that I will never be finished growing up 😉 I LOVE to dream and plan about gardening and “what’s next” in the yard. Thankfully I have a very handy Husband who help me out with the tougher stuff (building fences and out buildings, and pushing wheel barrels that I have over filled) – putting my grand schemes into play. Keep dreaming! Keep Playing in the dirt!!

    • Mammy Oaklee says:

      Thank you Liz! I always wanted to be a farmer 🙂 and on 2/3 Acre we do farming BIG!! Surrounded by the giant farmers who are all respecting, friendly neighbors that take pleasure in watching us enjoy it all. oops! I never saw your whole comment until now…you all sound just like us!!

  3. ELAINE TRAHAN says:

    Hope you stay around for another year or two ;). I sure enjoy your stories, I can so relate! Love what you are doing, keep it up!

  4. 4amfarms says:

    Dreams your heart can follow, keep the faith in yourself.
    You are strong, believe in you, share your happiness. =-)
    I am 4AMFarms
    Mom to Ravenphoenix 78 (indie poet)
    Mom to Dana (roller-derby chick)
    Mom to Cody (starting his dream job today)
    Life is good filled with joy and happy dreams.
    Jani

  5. 4amfarms says:

    Those that believe in thier dreams are the ones that can and will make them come true =-)
    I am “4AMFarms”
    Mom of Raven Phoenix 78 ( Indie poet)
    Mom of Dana (Roller-derby hopeful)
    Mom of Cody (Today he started his dream job)
    Keep the faith with dreams and prayers all things are possible.
    Blessings
    Jani

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

