The Ducks Among Us

Give a girl diamonds, flowers and chocolate to win her heart as the saying goes, or something like that. That may work for some girls, but not all girls nor this chick.

Don’t get me wrong diamonds are great! They are beautiful, especially if the giver’s heart matches the color and sparkle. Flowers are nice too, but honestly I’d rather have a live plant or a tree that will go on living. Then, there is chocolate, that wonderful, delicious pacifier that melts in my mouth and provides me with a temporary comfort. A beautiful gift for a quick fix to by you time. <grin> Personally, I love a lot of quick fixes with nuts! But not everything can be fixed properly this way.

So if diamonds, flowers and chocolate are not for all girls, or not for me, what is the way to our hearts you might ask? Well, I have already given you a hint. The answer is quite simple. Give us something full of life!

Here is a short story of how I discovered that there are ducks among us girls. It started a few weeks ago, when I started to get depressed. Life was starting to get stressful. Everything seemed to be standing still. The harder I worked to get it moving, the more depressed I would get when nothing would move forward. Pappy saw me slipping farther down as time went on, so he started giving me more hugs & kisses (still PG rated and yes, we are licensed 😉 ), and lot of chocolate with nuts. I totally love that man!  Yet still, I could not pull myself up.

Then, just the other day, while surfing the net, I noticed an advertisement in the livestock section, in our area. I had stumbled across an ad that I have been watching for all fall. It was an ad for Muscovy ducks! (If you remember the stories of ‘Batman Arrives’ and ‘Batman-Three for Three Equals’ you know why I’m getting excited).

You see, this year I was left with only two beautiful drakes, Batman Jr. and the Silver Surfer. Two poor, lonely dudes without any girls of their own. Bachelors destined to tough it out all winter, cold and henless! It was really quite heartbreaking to see them like that! (Pappy’s only comment was “Lucky ducks!”  I wonder what he meant by that? tongue in cheek, of course!)

Immediately, I set out to contact the owner of that advertisement, then, waited for their reply with an address. All the while, I was hoping that someone else did not beat me to them. Yes, that actually happened the last two times!

Meanwhile, I sent a text to Pappy full of, 🙂   and 😀 and loaded with !!!!!!, about my discovery! He just kept sending back, LOL! And then ended with ” don’t go too crazy! “

Not long after this, I received an email with a phone number to contact them for the address. Wooo hooo! I’m going on a quick road trip! And by 11:30 am, I was greeting a retired couple, ‘Daniel and May’ (yes I changed their names: I hope they like these ones when they read this 😉 ), who raise Muscovies and other fowl for a hobby. They took me out back to where the birds are, and let me tell you, I was completely impressed with their clean set up. I mean, I have been to many farms, some of which I would just say, ‘no thanks, I changed my mind’, if you know what I mean. But, Daniel and May’s farm was a keeper. A place to be proud of. All the birds were clean and healthy. Some birds were in huge runs, and some were free-ranging. You could easily tell these folks care for all of their birds.

Anyways, we were quick to get down to the business of catching and loading the hens into my crate, then into the van. That done, we started sharing our bird stories, and May showed me a couple of her favorites birds that they love. One of which was the giant rescue gander who was born with backward wings and he thinks he is the father of all the birds there!  And then, a happy but one-eyed drake just roaming around . Two birds who are healthy, loved and given a place to live safely out their days. This speaks a lot of Daniel and May, doesn’t it? I will be keeping in touch with them for possible future business.

Well, to keep this story short, I will cut to the chase. I was so happy with what I found that I did get just a little crazy (oops!), BUT NOT TOO CRAZY! LOL! Instead of bring home 5 birds, 7 tops, I brought home 9! 😀

Yes, 9 of the most beautiful, CHOCOLATE!! Muscovy hens, I ever did see!

I could not wait to get them home and settled with the soon to be ex-bachelors! Their nights will be much warmer, and they will soon have a lot to sing and dance about! Especially, if Batman Jr. takes after his dad! <wink-wink>

That evening, when Pappy got home, I could hardly contain myself while waiting for him to unwind from his day, THEN eat his supper. I had to restrain myself a couple of times, (while sitting there bouncing in my chair like a child waiting to go to the fair!) from dragging him out to the barn to show him our new addition of chocolate Muscovies.

Diamonds, flowers, and chocolate are great but, they can not give you what something ‘living’ can. It was not just getting the birds that made me happy again, no it was the sense of fitting together the need to the complete life’s cycle. The bachelors now have way to be a family. They get to grow, be fruitful and multiply, and I get to be a part of that by providing their basic needs and a safe place to live. I get to tend for, keep, and watch all the beauty in life around me created by our Creator.

Through all this, Pappy was happy and chuckling about me. It was obvious that the clouds over me have once again left. I am sure he sometimes thinks I am quackers and that is okay. I also know, he knows that’s what he loves most about me; that I can take pleasure in little things in life. The most important things in life, like playing in dirt, nurturing, helping things grow and being healthy. Pappy loves to see me thrive at what I love to do, and what I love to do is visible all over The Heart of the BottomsUp 2/3 Acre and in those who live here.

May you all be that happy, or at least have a ‘ducky girl’ around you to help!

I Love Catching These Moments!

Morning Workouts

Batman Jr.

Silver Surfer

The Muscovy Family

Shaking that Thang!

The Heart of the BottomsUp 2/3 Acres wishes you to have a Wonderful Day!

Mammy Oaklee 🙂

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Life on the BottomsUp 2/3 Acre and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Ducks Among Us

  1. Pat Westbrook says:

    I so very much enjoyed reading this to Hubby and am delighted to see clouds cast away with the beauty that life can bring so much light!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

