Be That “Someone” Today

Are you fighting cabin-fever? Are you down in the dumps? Or maybe, you are just plain tired of fighting for a little piece of happiness? Either way, when you have had enough and you are ready to feel better, the question pops into your head, how do I get happy? The answer is probably the very opposite to what you are thinking and the reason you are so low to begin with. This is what happened to me, and how I got better at being happy.

Do you remember the game we would play as children (actually some of us still do play), the game of hiding from someone to jump out and scare the…. he, he, he, that out of them! Do you remember how you felt while waiting and waiting… hearing them getting closer and closer. Your heart would begin to race, because you know something they do not! You are grinning so much, and trying so hard not to giggle! Until just the right moment when you can jump out and yell “surprise!” You know full well that your scare is going to rebound and their scare will scare you too! Then, you will both laugh and laugh, and maybe just laugh hard enough to cry! Ahhh sigh! Those are great times!

Do you remember making home-made cards for Mother’s Day? Drawing stick people and using your favorite colors of crayons. Taking great care in choosing those ‘I luve you Mummy’ words and doing your best spelling. You would always make sure there was a bright, yellow sunshine with a smile. Through the whole process of making this gift of love, you felt so happy! You were filled with the anticipation of the moment, of when your Mother would see the card! Ahhh… the wait before the smile, then the warmth of seeing one that you made!

Do you remember your first love? Nahhh… I do not mean the one you married. I mean the one who change your entire life! When you discover that we are not just children, but boys and girls! Oh WOW! Do you remember that? Remember how you would beat your brain trying to do anything/everything, to win that eye! Your attention was completely on the other to opening doors, being kind, picking your best clothes, and taking more baths!!! Even at the risk of being bullied by the others, but if you scored a smile….it was all worth it! Your heart did flips, and you felt that smile from inside out!

So, how do we pull ourselves out of cabin-fever, the blues, the tough and tired times? We be like the child we once were. We make the sugar once taught to us through life. The games of giving never get old. They work, and they are timeless throughout our life. Sometimes we get so wrapped up in trying to buy happiness that we truly forget that we were the happiest when we did not have a dime.

Recently, I heard a scream from a child. That scream startled me greatly, but the immediate laughter of that child and the one who cause the surprise made me smile, and it soothed my soul. A timeless game can do all that. 🙂

The other day, I mailed a letter. Really, I did! I snail-mailed a card and the receiver said it made their day. It also made mine when I did it. 🙂

Often, I like to leave little notes in Pappy’s work bag. Notes like: ‘I love you’, ‘My days are long without you’, ‘Do you know what I’m wearing?’ he, he, he And yes, I know what you are thinking…That ol’ wide-load! YES! This ol’ wide-load can still make the Pappy’s heart sing! 🙂

So I ask you… are you ready? Are you ready to be happy again and come out of the cabin? Are you ready to be that ‘someone’ to give others a little happiness to fill yours? Don’t wait another moment! Pick someone to put a smile on; a wife, a husband, a child, a neighbor, or perhaps just some ol’ wide-load 🙂   I promise you won’t regret it, I don’t.

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Be That “Someone” Today

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more! I get down in the dumps but every morning I do my good morning message on the bus radios. A lot complain that they get sick and tired of hearing me. But one mechanic now sings “My Girl” when I come into the shop. But you know what makes me smile….. there are now 4 other bus drivers that come over the radio to say good morning! Yes I am to blame! 🙂 Do you smile at random people in the store to see what kind of reaction you get? It’s quite fun! Great Job again Mammy for bringing sunshine to “somebody” today!!

    • Mammy Oaklee says:


      Thank you Jennifer! And congratulations on being a “happy virus”!
      To answer your question… Yes, I do smile at random people. I am even known to walk up to total stranger’s and compliment them on something, or offer help if I see it needed 🙂 Pappy gets such a kick out of the way I can get total strangers smiling and laughing with me! 😀

  2. Pat Westbrook says:

    You lead by example by giving of yourself to spread joy, happiness and sunshine to others through your insightful posts. I find myself looking forward to what’s coming out next. Thank you for the reminder of giving of myself for the purpose of bringing some of that sunshine to others. 🙂

    • Mammy Oaklee says:


      Aw thank you dear! It is a talent we are all blessed with, the only requirement is to do it! Little things or big things, it does not matter, you will be blessed for doing. 🙂

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

