Morning Has Broken

Morning Has Broken

How blessed I am to awake to another new day.

I can stretch, take my time, as I think about May.

I am bundled up safe and sound in comfort of my bed .

The rest through the night was beside my love where I softly laid my head.

The roosters are crowing announcements of a new day.

The dog is howling and mourning because nights take me away.

The birds are singing songs that say all is well and good.

The cats come home meowing from their prowl of their hood.

Every morning I hear this as the sun starts to rise.

 Peaking in through my curtains as I wipe the sleep from my eyes.

I roll out of bed thanking God for a good rest.

I am starting another day recognizing I am blessed.

It is time to go do what I love to do most.

 Nurturing all those under me and being a good host.

With full bellies all around and everyone settled to start a new day,

I can sit back with a smile, sip my coffee and softly spoken I say,

I am very blessed to see another morning has broken today.

~The Wife S.R.

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Life on the BottomsUp 2/3 Acre and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Morning Has Broken

  1. Brenda Salladay says:

    I loved it!!!

  2. Pat Westbrook says:

    The Wife S.R. has expressed so eloquently the simple things in life that we often take for granted. The blessings we experience daily are endless. Thank you for opening my eyes and ears to the beauty that abundantly surrounds me 🙂

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

