Lilac Jelly

Lilac Jelly 002

In keeping with the seasons and with Dandelion Jelly scoring 2 thumbs up with everyone who has tried it, I decided that I will try to make all of this years jelly from our own produce. Right now all the Lilacs are in full bloom so let’s give it a try!

I found a good recipe with The 3 Foragers : http://the3foragers.blogspot.ca/2011/05/lilac-recipe-lilac-jelly.html

Following their recipe I was able to make our very own, very first time Lilac Jelly. All of my brave ‘guinea-pigs’ that tried the Dandelion Jelly are adding this to their favorite jelly collection as well as giving Lilacs the 2 thumbs up!

Although, the recipe does call for less sugar than other jellies, we found this to be a little sweeter than the others. I am making more for our cupboard so this time round I am packing my quart jar a little tighter with the flowers to see if that makes a difference.

Overall we find Lilac Jelly a keeper 🙂

Thank you to The 3 Foragers for the share!

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lilac Jelly

  1. sarah says:

    I meant LILACS ! haha

  2. sarah says:

    I am soaking dandelions now. Hope it will turn out. thanks for recipe

  3. Amy says:

    I just might have to try this one. My neighbour just might let me pick his lilacs! And I must have missed the dandelion jelly post. My boys will enjoy making it!

  4. Brenda Salladay says:

    MMM Sounds good!!! My mom used to can but I never have. I might just try it one of these days!!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

