Something Disgusting

Okay today’s post is not a refreshing change of pace, but it is a change of pace from canning or preserving none-the-less . Today’s post will share what some of the extremes are that we diehards will do to get the best produce. The cream of the crop of our food sort of speak.

As you all know, I battle to have better health. I follow in the foot steps of some professionals before me who have beaten poor health by changing their life-styles not just prescriptions. For me that meant changing my diet according to its needs. Meaning, more chicken, lamb (yuck! lol), duck, fish, and TONS of veggies and fruit.

Well so much for our idea of decreasing our flock this year in hopes of decreasing my chores! But if I really think about it, improving my diet means improving my health thereby giving me more energy for chores leading to being totally fit that I could enter the Olympics!! Wooo Hooo!

Well okay, maybe I’ll just start at the baby-steps first and aim for the Annual Family Run, Walk, Roll or Crawl 🙂

Okay so here we go! Onward and forward to the beginning of something disgusting.

It all started last year when my dream came to a rolling stop, and I cried. My beloved truck, a dream I never thought to come true, died. I loved that truck! I drove her hard and pampered her with all her needs. I treated her as I do myself. So I felt a piece of who I am had died that day. And I’m sure there are a lot of you out there who know exactly what I mean.

A piece of me that died to allow a stronger me to live.

A piece of me that died to allow a stronger me to live.

So I have to move forward without my truck who I felt made me feel whole… made me country complete. So, now how am I going to haul wood for the winter heat? What about the chicken run to the butcher? That’s an hour long drive! Then there’s the straw needed for bedding and house insulation! And we don’t even own a trailer!

Well as you all know by my previous posts, I am not a quitter! Times are hard for us right now as it is for most people. So we make do with what we have and as far as I’m concerned hard times will only be in-grained more deeply into my identity of being true country. Through trials of circumstance I am deeply-rooted as my grand-parents were who built this country. This trial should make me only more countrified, right?

So how did I solve the whoas of my identity crisis? Simple, I got out the….. no, not duct tape 😛 I got out a bunch of blue tarps and took out the unnecessary back seats of the mini-van to make me a pick-up! Yes, I will have to make more trips for some things, but it is making me shop and hunt closer to home, which when you really think about it, it is saving me money on gas! Bonus!

Are you wondering how I solved the chicken run to the butchers?

Well there are no neighbors around to help us out and when its time to do them and there are too many for us to handle especially with the men on the road. So, in keeping true to the character of my breed, staying dedicated to all my commitments, and cementing the indisputable reputation of being a complete country girl, this Ol’ Wide-Load stacked the culled out chickens and ducks in the mini-van!

Oh yes I did! I did something disgusting!

Now being as the  butcher starts bright and early, we get up even earlier to load the birds in cages and stack them in the van on tarps and wrap the tarps up the sides, especially on those nasty ducks who for those that don’t know…SPLAT! straight out the back end, not down!

With the windows down and the van loaded we made our way down the dusty, gravel roads as the sun starts its beautiful sunrise. Ahhh Gorgeous!! Do you what else starts to rise then? FIVE ROOSTERS VOLUME in the back of mini-van!! Then the hens who decide now is a good time to lay an egg and lets not forget the ducks who do the morning SPLAT! of relief!

To some folk duct tape is their world, but for me…you will never separate me from my blue tarps!

So what could I do? Absolutely nothing but, LAUGH! This is the life I love! Give me the noise and poop of the country over the city noise and pollution. For me there isn’t a comparison, especially since this is only and hour.

The trip didn’t seem as long as I thought it would, and the whole ordeal not as bad as I had once thought it would be. When I started to weigh my options it was quite clear that there really wasn’t anything but opportunities. When the truck died and a piece of me with her, this was an opportunity of the weaker me to grow stronger and more in-grained in who I really am. I am a country-girl through and through. I will do the hard work, I will shovel the ….poop, I will get the job done even if it is something disgusting, and I will do as the seasons require.

The trip home was peaceful. A little smelly yes, but nice just the same. When I got home, of course every thing got hosed down. All the carpets were fine thanks to my blue tarps. I wiped out the dust from the roads and aired out the van. There is not a sign nor smell to ever tell of my character defining moment. Well except this post 😉

And just for those who think they can trump this….Last week I spent two days hauling manure in trash cans and old grain bags for our new garden. Yes, in the back of the mini-van!!

The Character Builder

The Character Builder

Don’t mess with me, I am Mammy Oaklee and I will do whatever it takes to get the job done for a better life! I AM A COUNTRY GIRL!

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Life on the BottomsUp 2/3 Acre and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something Disgusting

  1. Pat Westbrook says:

    Hubby and I absolutely loved this! It’s the ingenuity combined with resourcefulness and perseverance that defines a person. A Country Girl you truly are!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

