Unexpected Sanity Invested

Do you ever get the feeling that all the balls you are juggling are about to come tumbling down? Are you fighting with all your might to keep everything in order, but… THERE IS JUST TOO MUCH!

Your list of ‘to-dos’ never seems to shrink. No, in fact, that list seems to grow! Sometimes it gets tempting to just toss the list in the dryer with the socks and….

YEAH, I WISH!

Lately, life seems to have a way of getting ahead of me. I do my best to keep up and keep all that is precious to me in order, but every now and then, it feels like my brain is out of disk space. The backspace button has been firmly pushed, permanently, in order to save the motherboard! If I do not stop this cycle quickly, I will crash hard and into the black void of beyond! AHHHHHH!

Ahhhhh!

Ahhhhh!

Nevertheless, if I were to stop pulling my hair out for just a second and listen to my aching brain, I might hear it really is not screaming AHHHHH! Instead, it is screaming at me “Yo! Dude! DEFRAGMENT!

151396-bigthumbnail

Okay, okay, I am finished with my poor attempt of geeky humour; I think you get the point.

I go through this a lot, on average about 3 times a year. I resolve this nasty, pull down feeling by fighting back and…are you ready for this? I lighten the load, even in the laundry room!

When times start to feel like I have too much responsibility, I stop and remind myself, ‘Woman, God didn’t bless you with a family just so they could sit on their tushies!’ Delegate! Teach! Make those talents grow! That is the responsible thing to do!

( Oh, I like that ; wink)

Amazing how fast your list can lighten and how quickly your productivity can double, even triple in a very short time! In addition, who profits by all this, you ask? Why, the whole family of course! Every single person that played a part as a team member to save the ‘motherboard’ (oops!), would be blessed in ways they might not yet understand, then again maybe they would. If they do not, you can always tell them how very grateful you are for their help or how thankful you are that they helped when you needed them. Everyone likes to be needed and praised, plus, it keeps them returning with a good attitude. <wink>

I am now off to a great start, of de-stressing my sluggish system, but that was only the beginning. Delegating is only part of the brain that received a needed de-cluttering. There is more yet that I can do to gain back my full speed potential. This next part is only for me to do. It is not to be delegated. This is my favourite part, 🙂  its time for me to fill the recycle bin!

Now picture this! You are going on a vacation and you have signed for a room where you are staying. As you unlock your door the anticipation of simple, elegant, freshly cleaned room has built to its fullest! Don’t you just love that feeling, especially when you open the door and it is granted? I sure do.

Simple, Elegant, Clean

Simple, Elegant, Clean

So that my friends, is my goal to achieve 3 times a year, as needed, right here on the home front! It is amazing how much a family can accumulate in such a short time!

Today, I am in the middle of working through the home. I have gone through all my clothes and my half of the bedroom with my rule of, ‘if I have not worn it in a year, it goes’. And, do you know what I accomplished? I was able to let go of a little 3-drawer dresser and give to someone who needs it! There is now order and neatness in my closet and chest of drawers. What is gladly missing is all the crammed, clutter that I use to see, which in turn created a stressful mind. Believe It or Not!

This same concept and goal is applied to every closet, nook and cranny in every room. If it hasn’t been used in a year, do I really need it? No, then I let it go.

Apparently, others have witnessed my habit of outwardly de-stressing my life and in turn have taken on the pleasure of applying it to theirs in a comfortable format. To you, and you know who you are…I say Kudos! I remember the first time for me was not easy, but it does get easier as you go. In addition, you will start to feel the weighted down of ‘stuff’ lift off and a renewal of energy begin.

smileys-and-emoticons-2

Recently, one of my readers posed a very good question to me about what to let go of and what not to let go of. The question was asked in a manner, letting me know that IF it was something to let go of, the person was not ready to, but would keep in the back of their mind that the time will come. (I liked how this person was planning for future continuance of growing). The object of concern found was in a filing cabinet, amongst old paid bills, and faded greeting cards that were unused. The latter two were easily let go of, but what became a struggle was an old memoriam card of a dear one, and I could hear the unspoken trepidation awaiting for my answer.

I answered my dear friend with a question, “When you found that card and read it for the ump-teenth time, did it give you a warm, fuzzy feeling in your heart?” With excitement in voice, the answer was, yes! Then, I asked with a grin, “Is it big and bulky and does it take up a lot of room?” Grinning back at me, the reply was no. “Then, smile in remembrance and put it back as an investment for the next time you unexpectedly stumble across it. Consider it an investment of those needed times for the unexpected warm, fuzzy feelings. You will know when you can let it go and not until then, do you.”

Like a warm, peaceful sunset following a hard day, some people have touched our lives in the past, that threw a simple remembrance card, can still warm our hearts by remembering the exemplified life they lived before us. This would be kept in the unexpected sanity ‘keeper’ folder.

The card is nothing special in and of itself; it is not kept in open view for all to see and it is not looked at everyday. It is simply just stored away in a ‘keep’ folder and forgotten again, until next time.

Therefore, in keeping with this simple ‘keeper’ rule of investing in the warm fuzzy feeling, and keeping that to a ‘less is more’ for dust-collectors. I continue to work my way through my home/life and ‘motherboard’. My cluttered, overly, busy mind is now starting to relax and breathe freely. Soon, all that will be left for me to do is to take my recycled load to one of the many donation centres of my choice and empty my recycle bin!

WOO HOO!

WOO HOO!

With a little bit of help from family now and again we all profit. In addition, by ridding unnecessary stuff in my life that clutters up my focus, I am now free to Goggle ur explore new adventures, talents or goals as family fun-time together! 😀

Its always about a family/love thing!

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unexpected Sanity Invested

  1. Patricia J Westbrook Illustrator says:

    I sooo loved this … and incredibly timed as this is what my project has been the last couple days. You have such a fun way of expressing the importance of de-cluttering, defragmenting or simply simplifying one’s life 😀

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)

