Honey! You Are Out of YOUR Shampoo!

It is a tuff world out there, and it is not getting easier. Bills are getting higher and higher, even though we do not consume more. A person can only work so many hours in a week before reaching burnout, so what do we do?

Well, as many of us already know, we get creative, and even look back to how did ‘they’ do it before it all went to commercial. To much of our surprise, we have been finding out that things back ‘then’ were much simpler. All the ingredients in everything from food to cleaners are the basic ingredients made from things we find in our own cupboards!

In getting started, I’ll admit we were a bit hesitant when changing onto the ‘old ways’. And, we have been venturing into it, a little slowly. Call us  ‘the commercialized raised ‘old dawgs’ if you will, but we are here to say now…we can be taught the old tricks! 😀

We started off with the simple non-threatening fabric-softener, very basic I know, but with a family full of hard working, greasy guys, you can count on laundry every day! Within the first week this basic recipe was proven and cost effective! Yay!

Bravely, I ventured into the liquid laundry soap. Again, the first week we had proven, and love this one too! The bonus was the recipe lasts for over 3 months!!! Just recently I finally got to make another round of this recipe, plus, play around with the scents.

Okay so, now you are getting the idea, our toes are wet and I’m taking the plunge! Sold with what I have mentioned, I explored, tested, proven and loved the following:

Fabric Softener, liquid laundry soap, tooth-paste, shampoo & conditioner, orange cleaners,  bathroom cleaners, and cough syrup as well as, cough drops.

For now though, as the title suggests I am only going to post the shampoo & conditioner recipes in my new category “Around the House Recipes”,and the others are to come in the near future. 😛

As basic as these are, they worked on a combination of problems for hair & scalp, such as, dandruff, oily hair, and dry hair. We know longer suffer embarrassment of flakes, or oily hair. Instead we have peace of mind knowing our hair and scalps are clean and healthy from natural ingredients.

Shampoo

1 Tablespoon of baking soda, to 1 Cup of water

Optional : If you are like me, I like to have a scent to my shampoo so I add 5 drops of one essential oil, eg. tea tree oil, rose oil, etc…

Note: I don’t suggest lavender for during the day, unless it’s a day off and you want to sleep  😉

Shake bottle well before every use.

Yes, that’s it!! How simple is that!! Now for our family, we use a large, emptied bottle of dish soap which holds a 4 cup measurement. This bottle also, helps get the mixture down onto the scalp.

Conditioner

1 Tablespoon of ACV (apple cider vinegar), to  1 Cup of water

Yes, easy-peasy again!

Now note; if you battle with oily hair you could probably skip this conditioner, or maybe use only once a week. My once was dandruff  guys use this every time they shampoo, but my once was oily guy, does not need to.

Egg Yolk Conditioner

For colored or chemicially treated hair I found that it’s good to treat myself to the occasional Egg Yolk conditioner.

Simply mix 2 egg yolks with 2 tbsp of olive oil and 1 cup of water.

(This is a lot of mixture, as I have long hair down to the middle of my back, and I had some mixture left over).

Slowly massage into your scalp. Leave in for 5-7 minutes to absorb all the needed nutrients and then rinse out completely.

Your hair will be rejuvenated to a healthy, soft shine. No need to do this all the time. You can regularly use the other basic shampoo and conditioner. This one is for a boost and occasional treat.

~~~

How long have we been doing “MY” shampoo & conditioner you might ask? Well, it has been a month to the day and we plan on continuing 😀    And I hear, tell, the parents have switched over too!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For more information visit the site where I originally found the Shampoo & Conditioner recipes at:

Simple Mom : http://simplemom.net/how-to-clean-your-hair-without-shampoo/

About Mammy Oaklee

A wife, mother, grand-mother, farmer and wrinkly ol' writer, who's finally got some roots planted in 'The Heart of the BottomsUP 2/3 Acre.' A born and raised city-chick, who found many'a smiles where her heart had always longed to be, in the country. Digging in as close to the beginning of creations, and finding wonderment with a smile. I live my life as a rollar-coaster adventure, and always adding new dreams as old ones are full-filled. Of course, I write about it all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Honey! You Are Out of YOUR Shampoo!

  1. Pat Westbrook says:

    I’ve just started using the shampoo and conditioner and really like the results. It’s especially comforting knowing that I’m not putting all those extra chemicals in my hair. I’m looking forward to using the egg&oil treatment. Thanks for the info!

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated: Simply leave a smilely, or maybe you would like to add some thoughts to this post. :)